The FPTA Transit Marketing Awards competition takes place every year at the FPTA Conference.  Entry is free for all agencies and each agency may enter up to four times in any of the 15 categories (once per category).

In order that like sized systems be judged against one another, there are two classifications based on the size of the transit systemʼs budget (this is new since 2014, in the past it was based on fleet size):

  • Class 1 – Member Tier 1 (Budget of $36 million or more)
  • Class 2 – Member Tiers 2, 3 and 4 (Budget less than $36 million)

Entries are displayed at the conference for attendees to view.  A panel of marketing professionals judges the entries based on the following criteria:

  • 50% Innovation/Creativity
  • 25% Production Quality
  • 25% Overall Effectiveness

Winners are recognized at the opening session of the conference. Judges may also elect to present a Certificate of Merit and/or an Honorable Mention in each category.

“Best of the Best” Awards are chosen from among first-place award winners and presented to the single best entry submitted (one for each class). Judges may also select a “Judgesʼ Favorite” Award. In 2014, there was a brand-new category for “Member’s Choice” in which attendees got to vote for their favorite marketing campaign, and the campaign with the most votes is the winner of the award. These extra awards are given out at the Award Banquet on the last night of the Conference.